The DP and the PPP agree on the distribution of the presidencies of the parliamentary committees

From left, Representative Kweon Seong-dong, leader of the People’s Power Party, National Assembly Speaker Kim Jin-pyo and Representative Park Hong-geun, leader of the Democratic Party, meet Friday at the National Assembly in western Seoul. to discuss the chairmanships of parliamentary committees. [YONHAP]

The two largest political parties reached an agreement on how to split the chairmanships of parliamentary committees, allowing the National Assembly to resume legislative activities after nearly two months.

President Yoon Suk-yeol’s People’s Power Party (PPP) and its rival, the Democratic Party (DP), finally agreed last Friday at a meeting attended by their leaders and chaired by the President of the National Assembly, Kim Jin-pyo.

Of the 18 parliamentary committees, the two parties have agreed that the DP, which holds the super-majority, will lead 11, while the PPP will lead the rest.

On the main sticking points regarding the chairmanship of the Committee on Science, ICT, Broadcasting and Communications and the Committee on Public Administration and Security, the two sides agreed that each side will take turns role the presidency of each commission for one year.

A DP legislator will chair the science, ICT, broadcasting and communications committee until May 29, 2023 and pass the title to a PPP legislator. A PPP lawmaker will chair the Public Administration and Security Committee until the same deadline, after which a DP lawmaker will inherit that role.

The other six committees led by the PPP are the Steering Committee; Legislative and Judiciary Committee; National Defense Committee; Foreign Affairs and Unification Commission; Intelligence Committee; and the Strategy and Finance Committee.

The other 10 committees headed by the DP are the National Policy Committee; education committee; Culture, Sports and Tourism Committee; Agriculture, Food, Rural Affairs, Oceans and Fisheries Committee; Trade, Industry, Energy, SMEs and Startups Commission; Health and Welfare Committee; Environment and Labor Commission; Land Infrastructure and Transport Committee; Gender Equality and Family Commission; and the Special Budget and Accounts Committee.

A separate special committee on judicial reform, which will oversee talks to establish a new serious crimes investigative agency, will be chaired by the DP, while the 12-member committee will be split evenly between the DP and PPP.

The parties further agreed to launch a special committee on political reform, chaired by the DP, and a special committee on pension reform, chaired by the PPP, to discuss relevant issues.

Rep. Park Hong-geun, leader of the DP, told reporters after Friday’s meeting that it was his idea to rotate the chairs of the science, ICT, broadcasting and communications committee and the committee. public administration and security, stressing that the party hoped to resume legislative activities to protect people’s livelihoods.

PPP leader Rep. Kweon Seong-dong said the deal was “unsatisfactory” for both sides, but he also decided to accept Rep. Park’s offer to hand over the Assembly national in full operation mode.

BY LEE SUNG-EUN [[email protected]]

About Emilie Brandow

Check Also

Medimaps Group Announces Partnership with OsteoSys to Bring Trabecular Bone Score to Korea’s Leading Bone Densitometry Platform

GENEVA, November 14, 2022–(BUSINESS WIRE)–MEDIMAPS GROUP (, a Swiss/global medical technology company specializing in image …